Basel Convention

Basel Convention

The Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and Their Disposal, usually known as the Basel Convention, is an international treaty that was designed to reduce the movements of hazardous waste between nations, and more specifically to prevent transfer of hazardous waste from developed to less developed countries. It does not, however, address the movement of radioactive waste. The convention is also intended to reduce the rate and toxicity of wastes generated, to ensure their environmentally sound management as closely as possible to the source of generation, and to aid developing countries in environmentally sound management of the hazardous and other wastes they produce.

To access the Basel Convention,click here


190 parties to the treaty, which includes 187 UN member states, the Cook Islands, the European Union, and the State of Palestine.

**The six UN member states that are not party to the treaty are East Timor, Fiji, Haiti, San Marino, South Sudan, and United States. [1]